We all have sent a risky message through Facebook that we hope could just be erased immediately. Some of us do it quite a few times, so if you are someone who’s been hoping to wipe out the messages that you have sent by mistake. The Facebook messenger Vanish Mode is for you.
You no longer have to worry about a message coming to haunt you back or facing the person you sent a spontaneous text to through Messenger. But what is vanish Mode on Facebook?
What is Vanish Mode on Facebook?
Are you worried about sending the wrong message? Vanish Mode on Messenger is just for you. Now you can send pictures, GIFs, texts, and so much more to friends and family without worrying about the messages. With vanish mode on Facebook, all your messages will be deleted when the chat is closed. You may have a gist of how this works if you have used Snapchat.
This measure increases the safety of the application, as sensitive and private information can easily be accessed by hackers and even someone who has your password. You can now hide it all using Messenger’s newly introduced vanish mode. All the messages are deleted, and neither does the sender, nor the receiver has any access to them. Facebook has made Messenger usage seamless for its users and later plans to introduce it to Instagram.
Keep in mind that the feature isn’t similar to changing any privacy settings on your profile, but it is limited to messenger chats only.
How does Vanish Mode on Messenger Work?
For those wondering how the Messenger vanishes mode works, you should know a few things.
You want to make sure that your Messenger application is updated to the latest version because this is the only way you will get access to it. Now, if you wish to turn the vanish mode messenger on with a friend, acquaintance, or even family member, then it’s possible if you have connected or spoken to them on Messenger before.
When it comes to vanishing mode messenger, keep in mind that if the person you are sending a picture, message, or GIF to does not have access to this feature, then your messages won’t get deleted automatically. Both the users need to have this feature activated to work efficiently. Now vanish Mode on Messenger isn’t a default option; it’s something you can do only if you wish to. If you do not want to use it, you shouldn’t activate it. With the end-to-end encryption feature, your messages are stored temporarily, and as soon as you leave the chat, they are immediately deleted. So even if someone hacks your Facebook account, they will not be able to access any of these deleted messages.
Since the vanish mode on Messenger uses encryption, you will receive a notification anytime someone even screenshots a message. Facebook also allows people to block any user or report anyone who misuses this feature.
How to Use Vanish Mode on Messenger?
All the people who wish to turn on their vanish mode on Messenger can follow the steps we have stated below:
- Open the Messenger application on your phone and then open a chat with a friend or family member. The conversation needs to be one-on-one as Vanish mode messenger doesn’t work in group chats.
- Now swipe up from the bottom of your screen. You will then see a message that will tell you to swipe to enable the Vanish Mode. Keep dragging until the circle icon is filled.
- The current chat will automatically disappear, and you will be left with an empty Vanish Mode screen. If you are activating Vanish Mode on Messenger for the first time, a pop-up will appear, giving you all the information you need to know about the feature.
- Like a normal conversation, you can now send messages, pictures, videos, and even GIFs on the Vanish Mode. These messages will last until your receiver views them, and then they will be deleted automatically.
- Voila! It’s done, and you can now easily use the vanish mode on Messenger.
The same method can now be used to Turn Off Vanish Mode on Messenger by swiping up from the bottom of the screen again.
Can you tell if someone is using Vanish Mode on Messenger?
If anyone sends you a message on Vanish Mode while using the regular chat, you will get a notification that you can click on to start a conversation in vanish mode. You will also be notified if they send a message outside vanish mode.
Does the other person know when you turn on Vanish Mode?
Yes, Messenger will notify you if the other person is using the Vanish Mode on Messenger, and you will also be asked to enter it. However, if they take a screenshot of the chat in vanish mode, you will immediately be notified.
Why do people send messages in Vanish Mode?
Vanish Mode on Messenger was launched to enable users to enter and create a temporary chatbox where the messages would get deleted as soon as they left the chat. This maintains secrecy and does not leave your messenger chats full of unwanted and old messages that take up space in your cache.
What happens when you turn on Vanish Mode on Messenger?
As soon as you turn on Vanish Mode on Messenger, all the messages from your chats disappear as soon as the receiver views them. If the user closes the chat, you will no longer be able to view what was sent or received. Users also can turn on/the Vanish Mode for separate conversations.
If you have been googling, what is Vanish Mode on Facebook messenger? You now have answers to all your questions. The feature is newly launched and is expected to be seen on Instagram. You can turn it on for individual chat threads or entirely, which is all up to you. It brings convenience to users and makes chatting safe. You no longer have to worry about someone accessing your phone and going through your private chats with the Messenger Vanish Mode feature.
Make use of it and choose which chats you want to keep and which unnecessary ones are better off on the Vanish Mode!